Background

The implementation of the BMBF funding measure "CO2Plus - Broadening the Raw Materials Base by CO2 utilization" and the funded projects addresses a large number of political objectives of the German Federal Government. These includes sustainable use of resources and Germany's climate protection goals.

 The following overview shows the history up to the current funding measure.

Hightech Strategy

The new high-tech strategy is designed to quickly transform good ideas into innovative products and services. The programme takes into account the entire innovation process, from the creative idea to implementation. All federal government departments develop common goals and implementation steps under the High-Tech Strategy. The focus is on research topics of particular relevance to society, growth and prosperity.

 

 

FONA 3

Research for Sustainable Development develops decision bases for future-oriented action and provides innovative solutions for a sustainable society. The third framework programme (FONA3) now supports this sustainability research in Germany by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. One of FONA's main fields of research is the smart and sustainable use of resources, which also includes the material use of CO2. In addition, CO2Plus contributes to the flagship initiative "Green Economy" and "Energy Change".

More... 

BMBF funding measure "Technologies for Sustainability and Climate Protection - Chemical Processes and Use of CO2"

The Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) supported universities and industry with a total funding volume of 100 million euros from 2010 to 2016 as part of the "Technologies for Sustainability and Climate Protection - Chemical Processes and Use of CO2" funding measure, which was part of the German government's high-tech strategy in the field of environmental technologies. A further objective of the funding measure was the substitution of climate-damaging gases and the optimisation of production processes. The CO2Plus funding measure is based on the results of this "predecessor measure" and is intended to open up further options for the material use of CO2. The "Documents" section of this website contains further information on the funding priority "Technologies for Sustainability and Climate Protection - Chemical Processes and Use of CO2".

ProgRess II

In February 2012, Germany was one of the first countries to adopt the German Resource Efficiency Programme (ProgRess) and thus committed itself to guiding principles and approaches for the protection of natural resources. With ProgRess, the German government has undertaken to report every four years on the development of resource efficiency in Germany, to evaluate progress and to further develop the resource efficiency programme. For the first time in ProgRess II, the material use of CO2 was included. The chapter on "Broadeining the raw material base by CO2 utilisation" highlights in particular the need for research results from research into the market, the need for research activities to incorporate CO2 into the existing carbon value chains and the so far inadequate pursuit of a cross-sectoral approach.

More...

Climate protection plan

"In Germany, we want to stipulate the further reduction steps[...] up to the target value of 80 to 95 percent [less greenhouse gas emissions than in 1990] in 2050 and underpin them with measures in a broad dialogue process (climate protection plan)."

The climate protection plan includes measures for a research, development and market launch programme to reduce industrial process emissions. These measures include funding under the "CO2Plus" and "r+Impuls" measures of the BMBF.

More...

CO2Plus - Use of CO2 as a material to broaden the raw material base


The BMBF will continue to focus on supporting research projects on the material use of CO2: 17.5 million euros will be provided by the BMBF as part of its CO2Plus funding measure. The main topics of CO2 capture, CO2 as a building block for chemical raw materials and electro- and photocatalytic activation of CO2 are dealt with in 13 collaborative projects consisting of industrial partners, research institutions and universities.


The BMBF funding measure CO2Plus started in summer 2016 and has a duration of 3.5 years.

Hintergrund

Mit der Umsetzung der BMBF Fördermaßnahme "CO2Plus - Stoffliche Nutzung von CO2 zur Verbreiterung der Rohstoffbasis" und der geförderten Projekte werden eine Vielzahl von politischen Zielen der deutschen Bundesregierung adressiert. Hierzu zählen der nachhaltige Umgang mit Resourcen und die deutschen Klimaschutzziele.

 

Die folgende Übersicht soll die Historie bis hin zur aktuellen Maßnahme darstellen.

Hightech Strategie

Die neue Hightech-Strategie soll gute Ideen schnell in innovative Produkte und Dienstleistungen überführen. Im Rahmen des Programmes wird der gesamte Innovationsprozess, von der kreativen Idee bis zur Umsetzung berücksichtigt. Alle Ressorts der Bundesregierung entwickeln unter der Hightech-Strategie gemeinsame Ziele und Umsetzungsschritte. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei Forschungsthemen, die von besonderer Relevanz für die Gesellschaft sowie für Wachstum und Wohlstand sind.

Mehr...

FONA 3

Forschung für Nachhaltige Entwicklung erarbeitet Entscheidungsgrundlagen für zukunftsorientiertes Handeln und liefert innovative Lösungen für eine nachhaltige Gesellschaft. Mit dem nunmehr dritten Rahmenprogramm (FONA3) wird diese Nachhaltigkeitsforschung in Deutschland vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung unterstützt. Ein Hauptforschungsfeld von FONA ist die intelligente und schonende Nutzung von Ressourcen, worunter auch die stoffliche Nutzung von CO2 fällt. Zusätzlich werden mit CO2Plus Beiträge zur Leitinitiative „Green Economy“ und „Energiewende“ geleistet.

Mehr... 

BMBF Fördermaßnahme "Technologien für Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz - Chemische Prozesse und stoffliche Nutzung von CO2"

Im Rahmen der Fördermaßnahme "Technologien für Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz - Chemische Prozesse und stoffliche Nutzung von CO2", die Bestandteil der Hightech-Strategie der Bundesregierung im Innovationsfeld Umwelttechnologien war, förderte das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) Hochschulen und Industrie mit insgesamt 100 Millionen Euro von 2010 bis 2016. Das Ziel der Fördermaßnahme war es, Optionen zur stofflichen Nutzung von CO2 zu entwickeln und industriell umzusetzen. Ein weiteres Ziel der Fördermaßnahme war die Substitution klimaschädlicher Gase sowie die Optimierung von Produktionsverfahren. Die Fördermaßnahme CO2Plus baut auf Ergebnisse dieser "Vorgängermaßnahme" auf und soll weitere Optionen zur stofflichen Nutzung von CO2 erschließen. Im Bereich "Dokumente" dieser Website sind weitere Informationen zum Förderschwerpunkt "Technologien für Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz - Chemische Prozesse und stoffliche Nutzung von CO2" hinterlegt.

ProgRess II

Deutschland hat sich im Februar 2012 mit der Verabschiedung des Deutschen Ressourceneffizienzprogramms (ProgRess) als einer der ersten Staaten auf Leitideen und Handlungsansätze zum Schutz der natürlichen Ressourcen festgelegt. Die Bundesregierung hat sich mit ProgRess verpflichtet, alle vier Jahre über die Entwicklung der Ressourceneffizienz in Deutschland zu berichten, die Fortschritte zu bewerten und das Ressourceneffizienzprogramm fortzuentwickeln. Erstmalig wurde in ProGress II die stoffliche Nutzung von CO2 aufgenommen. Im Kapitel zur "Verbreiterung der Rohstoffbasis durch stoffliche Nutzung von CO2" wird insbesondere auf die Notwendigkeit von Forschungsergebnissen aus der Forschung in den Markt, die Notwendigkeit von Forschungsaktivitäten zum Einbau von CO2 in die bestehenden Kohlenstoffwertschöpfungsketten und die bisher unzulängliche Verfolgung bes branchenübergreifenden Ansatzes hingewiesen.

Mehr...

Klimaschutzplan

"In Deutschland wollen wir die weiteren Reduktionsschritte […] bis zum Zielwert von 80 bis 95 Prozent [weniger Treibhausgasemissionen als 1990] im Jahr 2050 festschreiben und in einem breiten Dialogprozess mit Maßnahmen unterlegen (Klimaschutzplan)."

Im Klimaschutzplan sind Maßnahmen für ein Forschungs-, Entwicklungs- und Markteinführungsprogramm zur Minderung industrieller Prozessemissionen vorgesehen. Diese Maßnahmen beinhaltet sowohl die Förderung im Rahmen der Maßnahme "CO2Plus" als auch "r+Impuls" des BMBF.

Mehr...

CO2Plus - Stoffliche Nutzung von CO2 zur Verbreiterung der Rohstoffbasis

 

Die Unterstützung von Forschungsprojekten zur stofflichen Nutzung von CO2 bleibt weiterhin im Fokus der BMBF Technologieförderung: 17,5 Millionen Euro stellt das BMBF im Rahmen der BMBF Fördermaßnahme CO2Plus bereit. Mit den Schwerpunktthemen CO2-Abtrennung, CO2 als Baustein für chemische Grundstoffe sowie elektro- und photokatalytische Aktivierung von CO2 beschäftigen sich 13 Verbundprojekte, bestehend aus Industriepartnern, Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten.

 

Die BMBF Fördermaßnahme CO2Plus startete im Sommer 2016 und hat eine Laufzeit von 3,5 Jahren.